Finalists for 2010 Aga Khan Award Announced

May 25, 2010

By Jenna M. McKnight

Chandgaon Mosque, Chittagong, Bangladesh
Photo courtesy Aga Khan Award for Architecture/
BKS Inan

Chandgaon Mosque, Bangladesh
Click on the slide show icon to see additional photos.

The 19 finalists for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture are to be announced this afternoon during an event at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. Chosen by a nine-member master jury, the projects on the shortlist range from textile factory in Turkey to a women’s health center in Burkina Faso.

Established in 1977 and given every three years, the prestigious Aga Khan Award recognizes notable projects in communities where Muslims have a significant presence. The program was created by His Highness the Aga Khan, Imam of the Shia Imami Ismaili Muslims. The prize fund totals $500,000.

Various types of projects are eligible, including contemporary architecture, social housing, historic preservation, adaptive reuse, and landscape design. The award is intended to honor all of the entities involved in a project, such as architects, municipalities, builders, clients, craftsmen, and engineers.

Following site visits and further discussion by the master jury, the 2010 winners will be revealed in October at a ceremony in Doha, Qatar.


2010 Finalists

  • Conservation of Gjirokastra, Gjirokastra, Albania
  • Chandgaon Mosque, Chittagong, Bangladesh
  • Nishorgo Visitor Interpretation Centre, Teknaf, Bangladesh
  • CBF Women's Health Centre, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso     
  • Bridge School, Xiashi, China
  • Tulou Collective Housing, Guangzhou, China
  • Palmyra House, Alibagh, India
  • Green School, Bali, Indonesia
  • Reconstruction of Ngibikan Village, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
  • Dowlat II Residential Building, Tehran, Iran
  • American University of Beirut Campus Master Plan, Beirut, Lebanon
  • Restoration of the Rubber Smokehouse, Lunas, Kedah, Malaysia
  • Rehabilitation of Al Qaraouiyine Mosque, Fez, Morocco          
  • Souk Waqif, Doha, Qatar
  • Wadi Hanifa Wetlands, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Madinat Al-Zahra Museum, Cordoba, Spain
  • Yodakandyia Community Centre, Hambantota District, Sri Lanka
  • Revitalization of the recent Heritage of Tunis, Tunis, Tunisia
  • Ipekyol Textile Factory, Edirne, Turkey

The Aga Khan Award Steering Committee

  • (Chairman) His Highness the Aga Khan
  • Mohammad al-Asad, founder and chairman of the Center for the Study of the Built Environment, Jordan
  • Homi K. Bhabha, director of the Humanities Center, Harvard University
  • Norman Foster, founder and chairman of Foster + Partners, UK
  • Glenn Lowry, director, Museum of Modern Art, New York
  • Rahul Mehrotra, principal, RMA Architects, India
  • Mohsen Mostafavi, dean of the Graduate School of Design, Harvard University
  • Farshid Moussavi, partner, Foreign Office Architects, UK
  • Han Tümertekin, principal, Mimarlar Tasarim Danismanlik Ltd, Turkey
  • Farrokh Derakhshani, award director

Members of the 2010 Master Jury

  • Souleymane Bachir Diagne, professor at Columbia University, Department of Philosophy
  • Omar Abdulaziz Hallaj, architect, CEO of Syria Trust for Development
  • Salah Hassan, art historian and curator; director of Africana Studies and Research Center at Cornell University
  • Faryar Javaherian, architect and curator; co-founder of Gamma Consultants, Iran
  • Anish Kapoor, artist, UK
  • Kongjian Yu, landscape architect and urbanist; founder and dean of Graduate School of Landscape Architecture at Peking University, China
  • Jean Nouvel, architect; founding partner at Ateliers Jean Nouvel, France
  • Alice Rawsthorn, design critic, International Herald Tribune
  • Basem Al Shihabi, architect; managing partner at Omrania & Associates, Saudi Arabia


Rate this project:
Based on what you have seen and read about this project, how would you grade it? Use the stars below to indicate your assessment, five stars being the highest rating.
----- Advertising -----

share: more »

 Reader Comments:

Sign in to Comment

To write a comment about this story, please sign in. If this is your first time commenting on this site, you will be required to fill out a brief registration form. Your public username will be the beginning of the email address that you enter into the form (everything before the @ symbol). Other than that, none of the information that you enter will be publically displayed.

We welcome comments from all points of view. Off-topic or abusive comments, however, will be removed at the editors’ discretion.

----- Advertising -----
----- Advertising -----
Sweets, Search Building Products