News Daily News
----- Advertising -----
----- Advertising -----
Sweets, Search Building Products

Cooper-Hewitt Gives Out Annual Design Awards

Diller Scofidio + Renfro's Scheme for the Boston Museum of Contemporary Arts
Image Courtesy Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum

The Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum recognized eleven award recipients at its sixth annual Design Awards on October 20. These included Diller Scofidio + Renfro, winner of the Architecture Design award, Sergio Palleroni, winner of the Special Jury Commendation, Ned Khan, winner of the Landscape Design award, and Richard Gluckman, winner of the Interior Design award.

Diller Scofidio + Renfro, whose award was presented by Richard Meier, has a portfolio of work including installations at the MoMA and Whitney, the current design for the Boston Institute of Contemporary Art, a redesign for sections of New York’s Lincoln Center, and collaborative work on the plan to turn Manhattan’s highline into a public park. Partner Charles Renfro remarks, “We're excited that the Cooper-Hewitt wants to raise the status of the design award to Oscar-level. The awards are thoughtful and grounded often rewarding careers built on dedication and perseverance rather than glamour and fashion.”

Palleroni impressed the panel of nine judges with his design/build studios at the University of Texas, Austin. The studios construct homes of their own design in marginalized locales including the US, Mexico, Cuba, and India, with a focus on using local materials and sustainable design techniques. Kahn’s projects have included such physics-oriented concerns as a tornado simulation vapor vortex, and a study of wind currents in a San Francisco BART station. Gluckman has worked on the MoMA Book store, the Mori Arts Center in Tokyo, and the Museo Picasso in Malaga, Spain. Both Kahn’s and Gluckman’s categories were new additions to this year’s awards. Over the next year Cooper Hewitt will be introducing educational programs including lectures, roundtables, and workshops based on the works of the recipients.

Sarah Cox