free e-newsletter free e-newsletter
product info
for premium web access
News Daily News
----- Advertising -----
----- Advertising -----
Sweets, Search Building Products
Reader Feedback
Most Commented Most Recommended
Rankings reflect comments made in the past 14 days
Rankings reflect comments made in the past 14 days

Thorne Named Executive Director of Pritzker Prize

Martha Thorne, currently associate curator of architecture at the Art Institute of Chicago, has been named executive director of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. The announcement came in mid-August from Thomas J. Pritzker, president of The Hyatt Foundation, which sponsors the award.

Thorne assumes the position immediately and replaces Bill Lacy, former president of Purchase College in New York, who has been the executive director since 1988.

The executive director, while not a voting member of the jury, facilitates deliberations, acts as secretary to the jury, and is responsible for many of the on-going proceedings.

Thorne, who has been with the Art Institute since 1995, has curated exhibitions like the Pritzker Architecture Prize: The First Twenty-five Years, as well as Modern Trains and Splendid Stations and Bilbao: The Transformation of a City. She also serves as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Graham Foundation.

Sam Lubell




Dodge Data & Analytics Dodge Sweets Engineering News-Record Architectural Record GreenSource
resources | editorial calendar | submit work | contact us | about us | call for entries | site map | back issues | advertise | terms of use | privacy and cookie notice | my account
© Dodge Data & Analytics. All Rights Reserved